BRB

Ugh. I’ll get back to blogging/writing/posting stuff soon, I promise.

Or at least, I will once I’m done with the North American virus that’s currently rampaging through my system. Yes, it seems I did indeed pick up a freebie at Cool Stars 16! The good news, orf course, is that I’m back in Britain, the land of the evul-damn-pinko-Communist-NHS. (Yes, the content of some American radio shows is shockingly stupid … you wonder how they cope with the really difficult things in life, like staircases or tin-openers.) Also, the American common cold seems qualitatively more virulent than our patsy tea-drinkin’ Limey version. (Ha ha. Ha.)

In the meantime, one small impression: congestion. After seeing American roads – like the eight lanes through the middle of Seattle, wall-to-wall with cars for miles, so thick you can’t even see the tarmac – the busy road near where I live suddenly didn’t look so busy. In fact, as I was walking home from the train station, I was startled to see how empty it looked.

And yet, here’s the weird thing. It was no quieter than it was before I flew out. Without even noticing it, I’d been on enough buses and taxis to begin to get used to the American situation. It seems travel really does alter our perceptions!

Leave a Reply

