The Tree

From a purely technical point of view, this has to be one of the most spectacularly-flawed photographs that I’ve ever taken. However, bizarrely, I actually like it:

I’m a bit cynical about the whole Christmas thing – I find the marketing feeding-frenzy that surrounds it a bit depressing. (In a town where I used to live, there was a store that started putting out its Christmas stuff on August the 31st. Other stores – several years running – had their Christmas displays interrupted by Halloween.) I’m not condemning businesses for doing that – I understand the logic. At the end of the day, you want to sell stuff, and if people will buy, why not? But the whole business does seem sadly-devoid of genuine human feeling. (Are people buying things because they genuinely want to make people they care about happy, or are they doing it because marketing has programmed them to?)

However, all of that mini-rant aside, I do enjoy decorating the tree. And that’s what you can (almost) see in the photo – this year’s tree!

I had fun putting it up!

Leave a Reply

