The Week of Electronic Death

I suppose I’ve just become a case in point about how technology changes our habits.

In the last week or so, I’ve had two different mp3 players die on me. One was the iPod, which had been creaking for a long time. The other was the backup mp3 player, which croaked a few minutes ago. It appears to have crashed somehow, and the reset button doesn’t do anything. If it were a desktop computer, this would be easy to fix – yank the power cable. Unfortunately, I can’t get to the battery inside the mp3 player – which is rather frustrating, as pulling the power would probably sort it out.

It also means I’ll have no music either on the bus journey tonight, or when I go round the supermarket. I’m not looking forward to either of these things!

The irony being, of course, 10 years ago none of this would have been an issue, as I didn’t have an mp3 player to break.

2 Responses to “The Week of Electronic Death”

  1. You have my sympathies, my ipod has finally died after 4 years of active duty. I’ve decided to use my phone instead, as if it crashes, at least I can take the battery out. The sound isn’t as good but at least it’s realiable.

    10 years ago I was using a portable CD-player, it ate batteries and jumped tracks if it got jogged or wasn’t exactly level. Somethings do get better.

Leave a Reply

