dA Fail

So I decided to change my username on devArt. That’s needed doing for a while now. I bought one of the three-month Core membership things, on the grounds that £10 isn’t a huge amount of money, even for me, and I have no intention of renewing it anyway, so the damage is limited if it all goes wrong. I’ve been wanting to retire the ‘davidnm’ identity for several years now, for lots of reasons, and it felt like this was as good a time as any to start that.

So off I went and I made the purchase.

And I’m deeply unimpressed with the results.

dA fail

You can see the problem in the above picture; yes, the name’s changed, but it also hasn’t. The old one is still there. In fact, it’s arguably more prominent than it was before I changed it.

So, that was money well-spent /snark.

To be honest, there’s not much advantage here over just opening a new account under a different email.

To be honest, I’m increasingly unsure what the point of dA is these days. Most groups have got painfully-bureaucratic, or have just decayed into bland marketing tools, the search page is awful and you don’t seem to get any views on anything, really. I recall it was fun and enjoyable through to about 2011/12, but the last few years, it’s been useless.

If you want exposure, or even just some interaction, you’re far better off putting stuff on Tumblr now, even with Tumblr!Staff’s ongoing meltdown.

Leave a Reply

